Since You Saw Me Last

13 Apr

So maybe I’m reeeeaaal bad at updating regularly. I would like to think that I’ve just been busy with my senior year of school. Yeah that’s it…that’s why I haven’t updated.

So last time, I mentioned I was reading Stranger in a Strange Land. Have I read anymore since my last update? Nope, sorry. One day I’ll post my thoughts on that.

Some things that I have been doing include: learning PHP, general homework, researching law, and playing bro-shooters online.

Bro-shooters meaning things like Call of Duty, where you can practically feel the testosterone flying around as 12 year olds scream at you. It’s always fun. This is generally a first for me; I rarely pick up the CoD games. I generally look for a little bit more substance in my gameplay experience (nerd alert).

As for PHP, that’s a whole other beast. Did you know PHP used to stand for Personal Homepage? Apparently now it stands for PHP: Hypertext Preprocessor, which is what we like to call a recursive acronym. Thank you Wikipedia!

So I figured PHP would be fairly easy to learn because I learned a similar language (ASP.NET for those curious) this previous summer. Turns out, I was wrong. Most of that stuff is slipping from my memory because I’m out of practice. Not to mention, much of the structure of PHP seems to be different than what I remember. Thankfully, PHP is an open-source scripting language. This means I can find all kinds of cool and free tutorials to save my day. The one that has been most helpful is PHP 101: PHP For the Absolute Beginner. It’s well written, informative, and contains all kinds of the dumb humor that I like so much. Plus, the writer occasionally uses references to The Matrix, which happens to be exactly what I think of every time I code something. One day I’ll know kung-fu…

…and stop overusing ellipses.

Leave a Reply

